AAHPM — Summer Quarterly 2012
Change Language:

More than 2,300 physicians, nurses, physician assistants, social workers, and other healthcare professionals explored the latest evidence-based research and innovative approaches to hospice and palliative care and networked with their colleagues at this year’s meeting in Denver, CO. The evaluation comments have been very positive, and feedback has been provided to the 2013 Planning Committee. Mark your calendars and plan to attend next year’s Annual Assembly in New Orleans, LA, March 13-16, 2013.<br /> <br /> 48% of attendees were physicians, 37% were nurses and other healthcare professionals, and the remainder were students, residents, and fellows.<br /> <br /> 16 different countries were represented, including Saudi Arabia, Ethiopia, Iceland, and Brazil, and every state in the Union. The top five states were California (305), Colorado (166), New York (130), Texas (119), and Ohio (116).<br /> <br /> 278 educational sessions were offered—including 24 preconference workshops, 73 concurrent and case conference sessions, 153 paper and poster presentations, 13 special interest group (SIG) symposia, 6 plenary and Rounding with the Stars sessions, and 9 educational exchanges and afternoon forums.<br /> <br /> 94 companies exhibited (43 of these were new exhibitors) and 28 companies recruited for new employees in the Job Fair.<br /> <br /> One-third of Academy members are now involved in SIGs and were able to connect with their community at 17 SIG and 6 developing communities meetings on site (see related article on p. 20).<br /> <br /> 29 members received recognition as new Fellows of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine.<br /> <br /> 637 contributors posted 4,969 tweets on Twitter that reached 367,969 people and left more than 5.5 million impressions.<br /> <br /> $29,500 in scholarship grants was awarded to physicians in developing countries and fellows to help defray Annual Assembly expenses.<br /> <br /> Award Winners<br /> The following members received awards for their exemplary service and contribution to the Academy and hospice and palliative medicine during the 2012 Annual Assembly.<br /> <br /> Russell K. Portenoy, MD, AAHPM Lifetime Achievement Award<br /> <br /> Amy P. Abernethy, MD FACP FAAHPM, AAHPM Distinguished Service Award<br /> <br /> Gail Austin Cooney, MD FAAHPM, AAHPM Josefina B. Magno Distinguished Hospice Physician Award<br /> <br /> J. Randall Curtis, MD MPH FCCP, AAHPM Award for Excellence in Scientific Research in Palliative Care<br /> <br /> Anthony L. Back, MD, AAHPM PDIA Palliative Medicine National Leadership Award<br /> <br /> Bernard J. Hammes, PhD, AAHPM PDIA Palliative Medicine Community Leadership Award<br /> <br /> David Dosa, MD MPH, AAHPM Humanities Award<br /> <br /> In addition, three AAHPM Presidential Citations were awarded to Judy Lentz, MSN RN NHA, of the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association; Myra Christopher of The Center for Practical Bioethics; and the Pain & Policy Studies Group.