Background Image

AAHPM Summer Quarterly 2012 : Page 9

I came away inspired by the caliber of research, teaching, and information provided at the conference. This was my first AAHPM conference; it won’t be my last. —2012 Conference Attendee SUMMER 2012 9 ANNUAL ASSEMBLY đŏ One-third of Academy mem-bers are now involved in SIGs and were able to connect with their com-munity at 17 SIG and 6 developing communities meetings on site (see related article on p. 20). đŏ 29 members received recognition as new Fellows of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. đŏ 637 contributors posted 4,969 tweets on Twitter that reached 367,969 people and left more than 5.5 million impressions. đŏ $29,500 in scholarship grants was awarded to physicians in devel-oping countries and fellows to help defray Annual Assembly expenses. đŏ Russell K. Portenoy, MD , AAHPM Lifetime Achievement Award đŏ Amy P. Abernethy, MD FACP FAAHPM , AAHPM Distinguished Service Award đŏ Gail Austin Cooney, MD FAAHPM , AAHPM Josefina B. Magno Distin-guished Hospice Physician Award đŏ J. Randall Curtis, MD MPH FCCP , AAHPM Award for Excellence in Sci-entific Research in Palliative Care đŏ Anthony L. Back, MD , AAHPM PDIA Palliative Medicine National Leader-ship Award đŏ Bernard J. Hammes, PhD , AAHPM PDIA Palliative Medicine Community Leadership Award đŏ David Dosa, MD MPH , AAHPM Humanities Award In addition, three AAHPM Presidential Citations were awarded to Judy Lentz, MSN RN NHA , of the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association; Myra Christopher of The Center for Practical Bioethics; and the Pain & Policy Studies Group . Award Winners The following members received awards for their exemplary service and contribution to the Academy and hos-pice and palliative medicine during the 2012 Annual Assembly. VOL. 13

Previous Page  Next Page

Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here